Gov. Deal Issues State of Emergency Ahead of Winter Storm

ATLANTA (AP) – Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has added six counties to the state of emergency ahead of snow and ice expected in the upcoming days.

Deal announced Thursday that Hall, Banks, Franklin, Rabun, Stephens and Hart counties will join 15 other north Georgia counties that are under a state of emergency. The governor says the executive order extends until Sunday midnight and frees up state employees and equipment to respond to the wintry weather.

The order covers Banks, Catoosa, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Franklin, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, White and Whitfield Counties. Deal continues to monitor an additional 24 counties, including those in metro Atlanta, under a winter storm advisory.

The National Weather Service says freezing rain in Georgia’s northern counties is expected to begin between 1-7 a.m. Friday.

Forecasters say up to a quarter-inch of ice is expected to accumulate in parts of north Georgia.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s